The Aimless began as a recording project for singer/songwriter Jon Latimer. The project attracted the interest of several close friends, and the band started gigging around Sonoma County in 2005. In 2006, the band relocated to the San Francisco Bay Area, and subsequently released two EPs on Tricycle Records. In 2008, they released their first full-length, self-titled album on Devil In The Woods Records.

After rearranging themselves as a three piece (with Latimer, bassist Andrew Macy, and veteran percussionist Eric Kuhn of Silian Rail), they began writing a new set of songs in early 2009, the result of which became the ‘Tran EP’, recorded at Franklin Street Studios, engineered by alumni band-mate Winston Goertz-Giffen (Ted the Block, Saything), mixed with Eric Peters (Sleepover Disaster) at Fast Traxx in Fresno, CA, and Mastered by Daniel McKenzie (The Rum Diary, Shuteye Unison, Identical Homes) at The Cotati Sound Machine.

Have a listen to the “Tran EP” via SoundCloud, or head over to their site and hit BandCamp!